About Us

The Club – An Introduction

Westminster Wanderers were established in 1999. We were born out of the Conservative Central Office side of the 1990s but now have Labour, Liberal and Tory staffers on the side as well as civil servants and PR and PA professionals.

We started off in the Southern Sunday Football League, entering one team and winning the Division 2 league title in 2001. Over the years as the club has grown we have increased the number of sides and now field three league teams in the Premier, First and Third divisions of the Southern Sunday Football League.

Last season we won the 2nd Division title and competed well in cup competitions, reaching two quarter finals.

We are proud to be an affiliated Club of the London Football Association and the Southern Sunday Football League.

Our home ground is on Tooting Common. Our Vet’s side plays friendly fixtures throughout the year in Battersea Park.

We go on tour each year and have travelled across Europe winning football tournaments in Poland and Madeira, returning undefeated from Finland& Estonia and playing the ‘Legends’ sides of Benfica and Espanyol. In Latvia we had a full international (50 caps for Latvia) play for us while on tour.

The current first team manager is James Kerry, who succeed Tom Overbury in 2014. Tom’s double winning predecessor was Richie Gibson, who took over from Darren Caplan. Prior to Darren David Hart was the first team manager from 2002.

The Club Chairman is Alex Aiken and the Deputy Chairman is Darren Caplan.

The club will be running training sessions throughout the season nights and play 8aside on Monday evenings. New players are welcome to come to any of these sessions.

You can see more about Westminster Wanderers in the Southern Sunday Football League pages in the London section of Football Mitoo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>